Skip to content

More on the Linocut Process

March 7, 2011

What follows will provide more information to those curious about what goes into a linocut print.

I have had questions about how the ink gets onto the plate. I mix my ink on a tempered glass paint palette. I use el cheapo palette knives to do this enjoyable task. Someday I will upgrade, and mixing will be even more fun. I use an el cheapo brayer to roll out the ink until it’s even and the right texture. Using so-so tools will make me really appreciate the grown-up versions of these tools when I do get them.

I use the brayer to apply the ink to the plate.

I use a little gadget called a baren to rub the back.

Then I do it again and again for about an hour and a half, and end up with this:

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 1:59 pm

    it is VERY COOL to read about the process! we plebeians have no clue about what goes into art. thanks for the guided tour!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

